Elephant in the room

You told me that you cared for me
But I already knew it to be true
Though you never saw just how much
My own heart begged for you
Your eyes betrayed your secret
When they’d alight upon my face
And fire at those who came too close
Or look away with too much haste
Yes, I knew you loved me
So I stripped bare my soul
I made myself vulnerable
And revealed you made me whole
But when you said you loved me
It was a confession with a clause
That we couldn’t be together
For our love would ignite wars
But alas, it was too late
We’d kissed the elephant in the room
And life would progress quickly
And we’d soon dance towards our doom.

This entry was posted in kiss, lost love, love, sad poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

