House of cards

Wearing a long, plum-colored dress
I’m playing a Baby Grand
Beautiful music leaves the keys
As I rapidly move my hands
It swells and shakes this house of cards
It envelopes my mind
A single card falls to the floor
But it’s blank on either side
My feet sit within black hiking boots
Surrounded by shattered glass
I stop playing to take a sip of wine
Promising it will be my last
I watch a far-off candle burn
It sets the curtain on fire
With a yawn, I get up and traipse off to bed
I’m really very tired.

This entry was posted in unromantic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

