A Poisonous Eden

I’m running through a garden
Butterflies tug at my hair
There are flowers all around me
And my callused feet are bare
In this gorgeous garden
Full of flowers, birds and bees
I’m running from my feelings
I’m running through the trees
I pick a rose – a lovely pink
A pink so pretty and so fair
I prick my finger on a thorn
I throw the flower in the air
Looks can be deceiving
Till you peel away the paint
I must escape this Eden
Elude this feeling, oh so quaint
I must flee until I find
A safe place to retreat
Unless I’m cursed to spend my life
In this garden, sickly sweet.

This entry was posted in unromantic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

