Empty space

Have you noticed all the empty space
Between you and I?
Even though our hearts are intertwined
Our bodies continue to lie
I hate how often I turn around
And how soon you walk away
I know you hear as well as I
Our hearts screaming at us to stay
We teeter on this precipice
Both too afraid to look down
I read my feelings on your face
In each smile and every frown
We make use of props and decoys
To keep each other near
Why can’t we come out and say
“I want you to stay here”
I could spend so many hours
Exploring the mind behind that face
And I could spend so much longer
Finding out how good you taste
Every second we keep faking
Is a second gone to waste
So follow your heart right over here
And fill this empty space.

This entry was posted in love, personal faves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

