El Niño

Sweat collects in the valley between my breasts
Seeping out of each pore
It moistens my dress
I watch the others
In their vests and shorts
But the battle with the sun
Is already lost
Singing the skin at the base of my neck
Covering my body
In a sheen of sweat
Scorching my limbs
Burning my face
I lick my lips
And it’s salt I taste
What can I do
But slowly bake?
I yearn for escape
Yet I’m tied to the stake.

This entry was posted in unromantic. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to El Niño

Leave a Reply

